Both salamis are handcrafted without the use of added Nitrates and Nitrites and are Gluten Free.
"The protected name designation states that Parmigiano Reggiano can only be made from milk produced by cows fed with a certain percentage of fresh grass and hay within a geographic zone, according to strict regulations. Although the name controlled version is just about 800 years old, the recipe is attributed to Benedictine monks working in the Po Valley in around 1200." (Source: Cultured Cheese Magazine)
As soon as you try true, authentic Parmigiano Reggiano, you'll understand the distinction between it and store-brand "Parmesan" Cheese.